ClothesPRess



KanYe vs. Balenciaga

I found out late last week that KanYe West was ‘not allowed’ to enter the Balenciaga Fashion Week fashion show in Paris and the first thing that came to mind is why? I mean despite his unpredictable behaviour and slick comments haven’t we all grown to love him and his brilliant antics already?With all the speculation I decided to go straight to the source, KanYe’s blog in which his response to the entire situation was as follows

I just love the clothes!  Lex and I are not there 2 take pictures… I don’t have an album about 2 drop… my tour is sold out… I love fashion and this is one of the funnest things we can make time for!  I totally love and respect any designer that won’t let me come 2 there show… it’s their show… they don’t owe me anything… Balenciaga is one of the illest lines right now and I don’t feel any type of way about not getting in!  There’s always a catch 22 in being a celeb … your motives are always questioned… but only time will show my true love MY FIRST LOVE is for fashion and I appreciate just being in a position 2 afford 2 be able 2 spend a week in Paris visiting shows. I wish everyone could have this experience, the new music you hear, the new people you meet and most of all the beautiful clothes! I understand that some designers don’t want all that unnecessary commotion at there shows, that’s what I mean by “I get a lot of attention” …  I feel like music and fashion don’t bridge enough… at least not as much as it did in the 80’s when Madonna and Michael actually influenced designers… there was a give and take. I never use my blog 2 clear stuff up… but this is so close 2 my heart I had 2 say something… Anyone saying something negative has it wrong, they’ve got me wrong… I just want 2 make great art on every level and fashion shows are one of the best forms of art in the world. Thank you Paris again for the inspiration!!! 

If this is not PR at its best, what is? KanYe West overtly defending himself by placing a reactionary statement for being locked out on his own blog, I loves it. Sound like we should look out for a KanYe clothing line in the near future to me. Isn’t it funny how PR practitioners have been given the name “spin doctors” when in reality that title can be grated to any successful “artist”. Speaking of Balenciaga have you seen the gladiator sandals, for the spring / summer 2008 collection, absolutley crazy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Rhonda Bowen says:

    I actually read about this incident about a week ago and from my understanding, Kanye was denied access because the designer thought his presence would take focus away from the pieces on show. It is ironic though that, the celebrity gossip news generated about him being denied access had the same effect of taking focus away from the show and putting it on Kanye. It shows how even your best media control efforts can backfire.

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * clothespress says:

    So true, this situation also demonstrated the unpredictable nature of the media. Sometimes you just never know what will catch people’s attention but in any situation you must always remember to gain control of the situation by staying on message.
    (media relations 101)

    Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

